2009 Irish Poker Open Qualifiers at Sportsbook.com

The 2009 Irish Poker Open is back and will be revisiting the Citywest Hotel in Dublin, Ireland. This once hosted by Irish Bookmaker Terry Rogers was originally held in Dublin’s Eccentric Club, since Rogers’ demise it has been hosted by tournament director and poker player Liam Flood.

2009 Irish Poker Open Qualifiers at Sportsbook.comThe Irish Poker Open is one of the longest running No Limit Texas hold'em poker tournaments in Europe initiating in 1981. It is traditionally celebrated during Easter weekend and this year it is scheduled to be played April 9th-13th 2009. At this time it is the second longest running poker tournament in the world after the World Series of Poker.

This year’s four-day Main Event begins April 10th with the Main Event buy-in set at €3,200 + €300. This tournament is one of Europe's largest and a fixture on the international poker calendar.

Join Sportsbook.com Poker to play in one of their many satellite tournaments to qualify into the Irish Poker Open.  Sportsbook.com Poker runs big tournament qualifiers every day. What are you waiting for? Register today and win a seat into the Irish Poker Open!

The Citywest Hotel will once again host high caliber players from all over the world. The 2008 version of this tournament saw players such as poker Legend Doyle Brunson and his son Todd Brunson. Sorel Mizzi, Roland De Wolfe, Padraig Parkinson, Dario Minieri and World Series of Poker bracelet-winner Ciaran were also amongst the dozens of other poker professionals registered to play. A higher stake of €200,000 was also added to the prize pool by Paddypowerpoker.com, which took the pool past the €3 million mark.

All said and done it was English poker pro Neil Channing who earned €801,400 and the 2008 Irish Poker Open title. Unfortunately he had to defeat local favorite Donal Norton heads up before taking his title. Anyhow, Norton took home €420,000 for his 2nd place finish. Thomas Dunwoodie finished in 3rd place ahead of Tim Blake (4th), Kai Danilo Paulsen (5th) and Edwin Tournier (6th).

See how Lucky your Leprechaun is the day after St. Patrick’s Day at Sportsbook.com Poker! Good Luck!